How to Request a State Vehicle Record

State_Vehicle_Records__1_

State Vehicle Record Requests
11/06/2014
Page 1 of 10
State Name How to Request a State Vehicle Record
1 Alabama https://www.alabamainteractive.org/ador_vic/
2 Alaska Persons eligible under the Driver Privacy Protection Act and Alaska statutes may obtain an Alaska Motor Vehicle
Record.
Complete a Request for Vehicle Record Form 851, sign and date the form, submit payment and any required
documents to the Alaska DMV. There is a $10 fee for each record. Government agencies are not charged for this
service.
By Mail Division of Motor Vehicles
Attn: Research
1300 W Benson Blvd, Ste. 200
Anchorage, AK 99506-3600
By Fax (907) 269-5202
By Email doa.dmv.research@alaska.gov
Forms URL: http://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/forms/pdfs/851.pdf
3 Arizona If you are the owner of record on the Arizona title, you may purchase a Title and Registration Motor Vehicle
Record (MVR):
 Online through the motor vehicle record request service on ServiceArizona.com
 By mail using the Motor Vehicle Record Request form 46-4416
If you are a prospective buyer of a vehicle currently titled in Arizona, you may ask the vehicle owner to provide
you with an Arizona MVR prior to purchase of the vehicle.
 Vehicles that have not been titled or registered in Arizona during the last 5 years may not be eligible for an
MVR.
 A Title and Registration MVR contains the following information: Owner, vehicle, lien and brand.
4 Arkansas Arkansas is under the Federal Driver’s privacy act and will not give out information belonging to someone else. If
you need information from when you owned the vehicle you may send in a written request along with a copy of
State Vehicle Record Requests
11/06/2014
Page 2 of 10
State Name How to Request a State Vehicle Record
your driver’s license to request the information. Your request must contain the following:
1. Vehicle specifics such as description of vehicle, VIN number, license plate number or name with
address for an alpha search.
2. Reason for requesting the information.
3. Fees are $1.00 for owner/lien holder information and $1.00 for each copy of documents requested
such as bill of sale, contracts, etc.

Mail your request to:
Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicles
Records Unit, Room 1100
P. O. Box 1272
Little Rock, AR 72203
If you need additional information you may contact our Information/Records Unit by phone at 501-682-4692 or by
fax at 501-682-4756 or by email at MVInformation@dfa.arkansas.gov
5 California http://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/?1dmy&urile=wcm:path:/dmv_content_en/dmv/forms/inf/inf70
6 Colorado https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dmv/vehicle-record-searches
7 Connecticut State of Connecticut
Dept of Motor Vehicles
Records Information
60 State St
Wethersfield, CT 06161
(860) 263-5700
8 Delaware http://www.dmv.de.gov/services/vehicle_services/other/ve_other_records.shtml
9 Florida http://www.flhsmv.gov/data/othercomp.html
10 Georgia http://motor.etax.dor.ga.gov/motor/dealers/WhatTagTitleInfo.aspx
11 Idaho http://www.itd.idaho.gov/dmv/vehicleservices/documents/3374.pdf
State Vehicle Record Requests
11/06/2014
Page 3 of 10
State Name How to Request a State Vehicle Record
12 Illinois Persons eligible under the Driver Privacy Protection Act and Illinois statutes may obtain an Illinois Motor Vehicle
Record.
Inquiries about registration and title records should be directed to:
Secretary of State
Motor Vehicle Records Division, Record Inquiry Section
501 S. Second St., Rm. 408
Springfield, IL 62756
Telephone: 217-782-6992 or 217-785-3000
Fax: 217/524-0122
Information Request Form:
http://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/publications/pdf_publications/vsd375.pdf
13 Indiana http://www.in.gov/bmv/2349.htm
14 Iowa Iowa Department of Transportation
Office of Vehicle and Motor Carrier Services
P.O. Box 9278
Des Moines, IA 50306-9278
vehser@dot.iowa.gov
Telephone : (515)237-3110
Fax number (515)237-3056
http://www.iamvd.com/ovs/index.htm
15 Kansas Go to www.ksrevenue.org or click on the Records Request Form 302 directly at
http://ksrevenue.org/pdf/trdl302.pdf
16 Kentucky Use form TC96-16G-Request for Motor Vehicle or Boat Record that Includes Personal Information–Government
Agency Use Only found at http://transportation.ky.gov/Organizational-Resources/Forms/TC%2096-16g.pdf.
Submit according to mail-in directions on form. Current record retention is five years.
State Vehicle Record Requests
11/06/2014
Page 4 of 10
State Name How to Request a State Vehicle Record
17 Louisiana http://www.expresslane.org
18 Maine InforME
45 Commerce Drive, Suite 10
Augusta, Maine 04330
Phone: (207) 621-2600 or (207) 512-5605
Toll-Free: (877) 212-6500
Fax: (207) 621-9950
General Email: info@informe.org
For subscriber information: 207-621-2600 x038
http://www.maine.gov/informe/subscriber/index.htm
19 Maryland Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration [Telephone- in-State] 410-768-7000
Division of Vehicle Records [Telephone – out of State] 410-768-7000
6601 Ritchie Highway, N.E. [Hearing Impaired] TTY 1-800-492-4575
Glen Burnie, MD 21062 [General Information Line] 410-768-7000
[Internet Address] www.marylandmva.com
To request a certified copy of a vehicle record requires completion of an application Request for Motor Vehicle
Administration Records (DR-057). The form may be obtained at:
http://www.mva.maryland.gov/Resources/DR-057.pdf
Once completed, the form may brought in person to any full service MVA office or mailed to the Maryland Motor
Vehicle Administration, 6601 Ritchie Highway N.E., Attn: Room 206, Glen Burnie, MD 21062. The fee for
certified copy of a vehicle record is $12.00 and the fee for a non-certified copy is $9.00. Please make checks or
money orders payable to the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA).
20 Massachusetts http://www.mass.gov/rmv/express/index.htm Please select “Title/Lien inquiry” and follow instructions.
21 Michigan Driver and vehicle records are released in compliance with Driver Privacy Protection Laws. For more information,
visit the Michigan Department of State website at: www.Michigan.gov/sos
Complete Records Complete driver and vehicle records may be requested through the Record Lookup Unit at
State Vehicle Record Requests
11/06/2014
Page 5 of 10
State Name How to Request a State Vehicle Record
517-322-1624. Records are $8 each ($9 for a certified record) and provided at no charge
to government agencies.
Form BDVR-153 is used for individuals requesting their own record. Form BDVR-154 is
used for an individual or commercial organization requesting another person’s record.
Form BDVR-155 is for use by government agencies. These forms are available on the
website: Michigan.gov/sos.
Bulk Data Bulk data is available through the List Sales Program. Address inquiries to 517-322-3452
or ListSales@Michigan.gov. Bulk records are record extracts (primarily header
information) and do not contain driving, title or registration history.
22 Minnesota https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/Pages/records-request-procedure.aspx, or call DVS Records Office, (651) 215-
1335.
23 Mississippi Download the Motor Vehicle Records Disclosure Form at https://www.dor.ms.gov/title/title_forms.html.
Instructions and fees are explained in the packet.
24 Missouri If you are the owner of record on the Missouri title, you may purchase a title and/or registration Motor Vehicle
record by completing request form Request From Record Holder form, Form 4681. Form and fee may be
submitted by:
 Visiting a Missouri Motor Vehicle licensing office. Office listing and business information may be found
at http://dor.mo.gov/mvdl/offloc/ ;
 Mail: Missouri Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle and Driver License Bureau-Record Sales, PO Box
2167, Jefferson City, MO 65105-2167;
 Fax: (573) 526-7367; or
 E-Mail: dlrecords@dor.mo.gov.
Request form may be located at http://dor.mo.gov/forms/4681.pdf. Refer to form for fee assessment.
Vehicle owner will receive documentation containing requested owner, vehicle, lien, and/or registration
information; however, this documentation may not be used in place of the Missouri title for transfer of ownership.
For information on obtaining a duplicate Missouri title, visit http://dor.mo.gov/motorv/titlerep.php or call (573)
State Vehicle Record Requests
11/06/2014
Page 6 of 10
State Name How to Request a State Vehicle Record
526-3669 between the hours of 8:00 a.m. through 5:00 p.m. CT.
If you are the not owner of record on the Missouri title, Missouri record information may be requested by
submitting the request form and fee* for each record. If personal information is requested, the requestor will
submit Request for Motor Vehicle/Driver License Records/Personal Information form, Form 5091. When no
personal information is requested, the completion of form Request for Information, Form 4803 is required. Refer
to form for fee assessment.
Forms may be found at http://dor.mo.gov/mvdl/motorv/forms/5091.pdf or
http://dor.mo.gov/mvdl/motorv/forms/4803.pdf
Public Records Request Review
Prior to release, public records requests are reviewed for permissible uses allowable by federal and state laws.
DOL will either provide you with:
 The record information you seek, or
Notification in writing with an explanation that prevents release of the record you seek.
25 Montana https://app.mt.gov/dojvs/public
26 Nebraska http://www.dmv.state.ne.us/dvr/vehrecreq.html
27 Nevada http://www.dmvnv.com/records.htm
28 New Hampshire http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/dmv/forms/documents/dsmv505.pdf
29 New Jersey Businesses may access applications & obtain information through the NJMVC records website:
http://www.state.nj.us/mvcbiz/Records/index.htm
Individuals may submit a written request for a variety of records http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/
30 New York Contact Information Not Available
31 New Mexico New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division
Joseph Montoya Building
P.O. Box 1028
State Vehicle Record Requests
11/06/2014
Page 7 of 10
State Name How to Request a State Vehicle Record
1100 South St. Francis Drive
Santa Fe 87504-1028
Telephone Toll Free: 888-683-4636 or 888-MVD-INFO
http://www.mvd.newmexico.gov/Pages/Fill-Print-and-Go-Forms.aspx#vehicle
Download/fill out Confidential Records Release form
Use this form if:
– You would like to obtain a vehicle record
Special Instructions: In addition to taking this form to an MVD office. This form is eligible to be faxed to (505)
827-2783 and include your name and phone number.
32 North Carolina http://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/records/
33 North Dakota North Dakota vehicle record information may be requested by submitting the Request for Vehicle Information –
SFN 51269. Instructions and fees are explained on the form.
Forms can be found on the NDDOT home page web site at
 https://www.dot.nd.gov/dotnet/forms/forms.aspx or
 http://www.dot.nd.gov/forms/SFN51269.pdf
Complete and fax or mail to the fax number or mailing address provided on this form. Or email the signed
completed form to mv@nd.gov .
34 Ohio http://publicsafety.ohio.gov/links/bmv1173.pdf
35 Oklahoma http://www.tax.ok.gov/mvforms/769.pdf
36 Pennsylvania If you are the owner of the vehicle, you may purchase a vehicle history by downloading a Request for Vehicle
Information (DL-135) from www.dmv.state.pa.us. Click on “Forms and Publications”, “All Motor Vehicle Forms,
Publications and FAQ’s, and DL-135. Forms must be mailed to PennDOT for processing.
37 South Carolina http://www.scdmvonline.com/DMVNew/default.aspx?n=nmvtis
If you are a prospective buyer of a vehicle currently titled in South Carolina, you may request a South Carolina
State Vehicle Record Requests
11/06/2014
Page 8 of 10
State Name How to Request a State Vehicle Record
title history by submitting a completed Request for Vehicle Information form (Form 5027-A) to SCDMV, Post
Office Box 1498, Blythewood, SC 29216-0024. The title history for the vehicle will include odometer information.
However, the name and address of the registered owner(s) is not available. The cost for the Title History is $6.00.
For expedited processing, include an additional $20.00 fee for each record. Make checks payable to SCDMV.
38 South Dakota Please submit to the following: motorv@state.sd.us
39 Tennessee http://www.tn.gov/revenue/vehicle/generalinfo/vehicleinforequest.shtml
40 Texas The consumer must:
1. Complete and sign the form VTR-275 located here http://txdmv.gov/forms.
2. Certify by initialing their intended use of the information on the back of the form
3. Submit the form by mail along with a copy of the consumer’s photo identification and the appropriate fee
($5.75, title history or$6.75 for a certified title history). If the requested information will be used in legal purposes,
we recommend that a “certified title history” be ordered.
To ensure the most current request form is used please use the appropriate form from the site.
http://txdmv.gov/contact-us.
41 Utah If you are the owner of record on the Utah State title, you may purchase a Title and Registration Motor Vehicle
Record by completing Utah form TC-890. Once completed please mail the form and payment to the address listed
on the form
If you are not the owner, please review the other authorized reasons listed on our form. If you can meet one of
these conditions, you may be entitled to the motor vehicle information.
You can obtain this form on-line at www.dmv.utah.gov
 Vehicles that have not been titled or registered in Utah during the last 10 years may not be eligible for a
record search.
 The owner name, vehicle information, lien holder and any brands will be provided.
42 Vermont Use the DPPA form: Record Request – DPPA (Driving Record, Certified Copies, etc)
43 Virginia For a Prospective Purchaser Inquiry (PPI) on a vehicle titled in Virginia go to www.dmvnow.com. On DMV’s
home page, go to the bottom of the page under General Information and click on Obtaining DMV Records.
Once on the screen titled Obtaining DMV Records, look down the list of available transactions for Vehicle
History Reports and click on the Prospective Purchaser Inquiry (PPI).
State Vehicle Record Requests
11/06/2014
Page 9 of 10
State Name How to Request a State Vehicle Record
44 Washington Washington State vehicle record information may be requested by submitting a Vehicle/Vessel Public Disclosure
Request form to the Department of Licensing.
 Access the DOL home page web site at http://www.dol.wa.gov
o Click on the word “Forms”, located in the upper grey part of the home page, found toward the right
hand side.
o Click on the heading called “Public Disclosure”, which is located in the middle column titled “Forms
by Subject”.
o Scroll down this list to the second heading titled: “Vehicle/Vessel Public Disclosure Requests”
o Click on the first bullet in the list called: “Vehicle/Vessel Disclosure Request” (form #TD-420-531)
o Complete and fax or mail to the fax number or mailing address provided on the second page of this
form. Or call the Vehicle/Vessel Public Disclosure unit at (360) 902-3780 and we will mail or fax the
form to you.
 Your request will be acknowledged within five business days of receipt.
Public Records Request Review
Prior to release, Vehicle/Vessel public records requests are reviewed for permissible uses allowable by federal and
state laws. DOL will either provide you with:
 The records you seek, or
Notify you in writing with an explanation of the applicable statutory exemptions that prevent release of the records,
along with an explanation of how those exemptions apply, in whole or in part, to the records you seek.
45 West Virginia Contact our Records Management Unit at (304)558-0282 or go to
http://www.transportation.wv.gov/dmv/Forms/Pages/default.aspx
and download and complete form DMV100 “Request for Vehicle Information” and either mail or take to our
Vehicle Services section at the main DMV office in Kanawha City, WV with the applicable fees.
46 Wisconsin Wisconsin vehicle record information can be requested by submitting the Record request form and a $5.00 fee for
each record. If personal information is being requested, the form needs to have one of the boxes checked
authorizing release of personal information.
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/forms/mv2896.pdf
State Vehicle Record Requests
11/06/2014
Page 10 of 10
State Name How to Request a State Vehicle Record
Additional information related to privacy of WI motor vehicle records can be found at:
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/drivers/privacy.htm
47 Wyoming If you are the owner of record on the Title, you must contact the County Clerk in the county that the title was
issued to order a duplicate title. If you are the registered owner of record on the Registration, you must contact the
County Treasurer in the county that the license plate and registration was issued to order a duplicate registration or
replace a lost or stolen license plate.
The County Clerk’s and County Treasurer’s telephone numbers are listed on our website at
http://www.dot.state.wy.us/home/titles_plates_registration.html
For a title search, we follow the Federal Privacy Disclosure Act. If you qualify, you may complete our Privacy
Disclosure Agreement and pay $5.00 for each title search. The Agreement is found on our website at
http://www.dot.state.wy.us/home/titles_plates_registration/title_search.html